top of page

about us

Background information


The Corstorphine Art Group was formed in 1962 and it was the inspiration of Miss Belle Kilgour, a local professional artist who graduated from Edinburgh College of Art in 1924.  She became a Professional Member of the Scottish Society of Watercolourists and a professional member of Paisley Art Institution. She exhibited in The Royal Society of Artists, later at the Scottish Society of Artists and the Royal Glasgow Institute. She was the invited “Carver”of the George Jameson Memorial Plaque in 1946. Much of her art work is in private collections in Britain and the United States of America.


Belle died in 1982 and bequeathed monies to be used by C.A.G. each year to meet the fee of hiring the halls of St. Ninian’s Church for the Exhibition. The funds are held by Corstorphine Trust, they themselves also being benefactors in her Will along with St Ninian’s Church Congregation. This much appreciated benefit to the Club ended in 2019.

Annual Exhibition


The Annual Exhibition is a well established community event in the Summer calendar of Corstorphine, and over the past 30 years, hundreds of people have experienced the pleasure of exhibiting and selling their paintings at our exhibitions in St. Ninian’s Church Hall.  

Exhibition (13).jpg
art show 2016.png.jpg
Art Group Flyer 2018.jpg

The Belle Kilgour Memorial Trophy and the Earle Douglas Award


The club  introduced The Belle Kilgour Memorial Trophy and the Earle Douglas Award in the past few years in memory of our two monumental and very special historical figures without whom we would not have C.A.G. today.


The Trophies (both of equal merit) are awarded annually at our Annual General Meeting in October. All visitors to the Annual Exhibition are encouraged to vote for their two favourite paintings in the exhibition and these votes when counted decide the winners of each year for “Best in Show.”

20150728_132758 (2).jpg

Belle Kilgour Memorial Trophy 


2006 Alex Brebner

2007 Sheila Paton

2008 Lorna Hunter & Donald McKenzie

2009 Emma Merchant

2010 Jean Ferguson

2011 Elaine Stewart

2012 Isabel Ingram

2013 Jennifer Milligan

2014 Anne Henderson

2015 Aline George

2016 Walker Forbes

2017 Raymond Ronaldson

2018 Neil Wilson

2019 Sheila Paton

2020/2021 not awarded

2022 Neil Wilson

The Earle Douglas Award




2008 Ian Baird

2009 Stuart Liddle

2010 Jennifer Milligan

2011 Anne Henderson

2012 Murray Easton

2013 Aline George

2014 Anne Davidson

2015 Pam Townsend

2016 Anne Henderson

2017 Lyn Campbell

2018 Anne Henderson

2019 Neil Wilson

2020/2021 Not awarded

2022 Anne Henderson


Benefits of joining the Corstorphine Art Group

Monthly evening meetings that include:


  • Live demonstrations by artists in a variety of mediums

  • The opportunity to have your work assessed by a professional artist

  • Introduction to different styles and mediums

  • Discount at local art shops

  • Meet and exchange experience with other members

  • To exhibit and sell your artwork at our annual exhibition


If you would like to join, or require more information, please use the form on the 'contact us' page

Meetings Take Place:

St Ninian’s Church hall,

St Ninian’s Road,

commencing at 7pm.

Access from St. Ninian's Road.

Visitors can attend any meeting for a fee of £5.00 per meeting.

There will be no charge at our open meetings in May and September.

bottom of page